Skip to content

Stretching Thin, Tying in

November 25, 2012

Once again, I’ve managed to neglect my own writing for over two months. I could easily say that I’ve been busy with multiple things but who isn’t right? No one’s interested in excuses so I’ll just write.

Pensive Me and R2D2

I give myself a hard time about not being focused. I just love so many things. Don’t I gentlemen?  Seriously, I adore my friends and their music and continually support them in anyway I can (check out www.paperthickwallls.com); film and theatre remain my absolute passions without question, and dance but that’s too much work. I still try to keep up my piano and trumpet skills on occasion; my sketch group Awesomonster still meets every week for our comedy podcast not to mention I work every day at either Robot City or the International Academy for Performing Arts as an instructor for singing, acting and, randomly, robot building. Plus, I’m a sucker for enjoying my leisure with dorky video games, oh, and I love my books; that’s enough semicolons.

This is starting to sound whiny. “Oh my life is such hard work, woe is me,” I promise that’s not it. I just want to do too many things. The footage I’ve recorded from the last year alone is enough to keep my busy for the next two. And I keep hearing, “What’s holding you back?” and “Get an agent already.” Alas, here I am blogging, entertaining the idea that someday I might pair my words together in such a way that I might achieve the beginnings of a comparison to a future Sedaris or Augusten Burroughs (my life has equally compelling stories, they’re just a little more Harry Potter in nature). So, while I fancy being a better writer I understand my volume isn’t high enough to have gained the experience points I need to reach such a level. However, what about all that I other stuff I do?

Some way, my feeling stretched thin this long is going to pay off in end. Perhaps, everything will tie in together during my next big push to revolutionize global thought. Wait… but when was my first big push? Another life I guess.

Just for sake of writing and because I miss doing it, I’m bringing back Nick’s Picks. However in the world that relates to all this other stuff I’m doing, I don’t know but people have told me they miss it and I like giving people what they want… most of the time. Maybe I should fix that and become a hedonist… but what about my favorite quote:

If there is no struggle there is no progress. -Fredrick Douglass

My life is like a robot. There’s a lot of little parts and eventually I’ll see how they all go together to make this monstrous, awesome, musical, beautifully creative thing (yes, my robot would play music).

Friends and strangers everywhere, raise a glass with me over time and space. Here’s to the struggle. Cheers to progress.

No comments yet

Say something to Nick.

