Skip to content

The Lost Card

February 11, 2011

Many from Memphis know the actor in me and others from the Knoxville, TN area know the Musician in me and here in Chicago friends and acquaintances dub me the comedian or “the book guy.”  Jack of many trades is a term I’ve come to love.

Working in a book store for over three years has not only allowed for my vastly increased knowledge regarding contemporary literature but also for my ability to review said literature in succinct fashion in a program I’ve so named, “Nick’s Picks.”  Persnickety is a word that comes to mind considering the limited space allotted for these two to three sentence critiques.  Ever constant as I remain to self-edit these selections, occasionally an error of spelling or syntax or worse slips through the cracks.  One such crack involved The Lost Gate by highly recognized science-fiction writer, Orson Scott Card.  Following formula (in our humble book store), I always write the title at the top of the shelf label insert.  In this instance rather than writing, The Lost Gate, it read The Lost Card. This escaped my attention for a week or so until I swiped it from the shelf.

During the next week I chose the selection to be recommended at length as my weekly submission to local blog Uptown Update (see Nick’s Picks).  The response got my attention.  “After hearing what a homophobe OSC is, I will never buy another one of his books.”  Supposing this could simply be conjecture or damaging rumor I did a quick google search and found many heated arguments against OSC’s views on marriage equality many of which reference his article submissions to The Mormon Times. Essentially, his stance regarding same-sex marriage is that such an allowance for this equality robs heterosexual couples of their societal privilege and ultimately damages the sacrosanct integrity of this divine partnership.  His support of Prop 8 and praise for the youth who align with this support flesh out his opposition.

I am a proponent for marriage equality; however, details regarding my position on the matter remain for subsequent posts.  I come now to the dilemma.  Given the aforementioned book was my first reading of the author’s works, do I stand behind my recommendation or allow new insight and feelings to contradict my already published opinion?  Illumination should always temper ignorance.  Yet learning such news about this author doesn’t change the fact that it is, in fact, a good book.  This being said, I’ve confessed my ignorance.  While I could claim this new knowledge changed my opinion of the author I simply had no opinion of the author other than hearing tale of his being an ace among science-fictionists.

Sharing this conversations with many friends elicited the same state of surprise that such an imaginative author could subscribe to such a nebulous view.  Clear though it may seem to those aligning answers to a set of dogmatic principles, the institution of marriage is one that will evolve just as it has and just as we have.  Those who consider their way of life under attack need think again, for identifying a marriage to be solely between a man and a woman through an ordained sect for purpose of procreation sounds as robotic as a view from the next great dystopian novel.  The heart is missing.

In close I know Orson Scott Card from this one work as an amazing writer, an “Ace,” in a deck of many face cards.  And while such a figure may trump many hands it all depends on what you’re playing for in the game of Euchre the Jacks are the bowers.

No comments yet

Say something to Nick.

